Markli running for mayor?

Knox Primary early voting April 11-26

Will there be two Town of Farragut mayoral candidates after all?

Alderman Bob Markli (Ward I North) said Tuesday morning, April 3, he was seriously considering a run for mayor, in addition to possibly seeking another term as Ward 1 alderman.

“I picked up petitions for Alderman, North Ward, and Mayor (Monday, April 2),” Markli said in a phone interview.

Knox County Election Commission officials confirmed the information, and noted only one petition can be returned.

Markli is cutting it close in terms of the deadline to return a petition to KCEC after making his decision to run either for mayor or for re-election — which is noon today, Thursday, April 5.

Farragut Alderman Ron Williams (Ward 2, South) announced last fall he would be running for mayor.

Markli has served on the Board since 2009. Town officials voted to impose term limits, which stipulates elected officials may serve no more than three terms total, and no more than two terms as either alderman or mayor.

However, because that change didn’t go into effect until 2014, both Markli and current Mayor Ralph McGill could run for re-election if they so choose.

However, McGill has not given any indication he would pursue the post for a third time, had not picked up a petition according to election officials and not confirmed his status as of Tuesday morning.

Confirmed candidates for aldermen in Wards 1 and 2 currently are unopposed in the Aug. 2 non-partisan election.

Ward 1 Alderman candidate Scott Meyer and Alderman Ron Pinchok, seeking re-election in Ward 2 (South), have picked up and returned petitions, election commission officials confirmed.

If Williams wins the mayoral race, his vacant Ward 2 seat would be appointed by the Board of Mayor and Aldermen

Farragut early voting for Knox County Primaries begins Wednesday, April 11, and runs through Thursday, April 26, at Farragut Town Hall, 11408 Municipal Center Drive. Hours are 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday (10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Tuesday through Thursday, April 24-26); 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., Saturday. No early voting on Sunday.

County Primary is Tuesday, May 1.