Six teams winners at FDCC Ladies 18-Hole Club Guest Day

  • Wearing her lucky “flamingo-themed” socks, Teresa Reed putts on No. 11 green. Her First Flight foursome, who finished third, also included Karen Jones, R J Whitfield and Suzanne Crutcher. - Photos by Alan Sloan

  • Betty MacDonald tees off at No. 14. Her Second Flight foursome, which finished third, also included Kathy Kruse, Debbie Patterson and Delores Haynie. - Photos by Alan Sloan

  • This Second Flight team, in flamingo-themed attire, takes a short break at No. 8. From left are Sue Grady, Donna Farinella, Carole Zehring and Debbie Collings - Photos by Alan Sloan

  • Taking a short break on No. 2 hole to display their “flamingo-themed” T-shirts are long-time FDCC members Tina Sanders, second from left, and Jamie Knowling, second from right, along with First Flight teammates Judy Henry and Marianne Fischer. - Photos by Alan Sloan

Many of the 72 participants in 2021 Fox Den County Club’s annual 18-Hole Ladies Club Guest Day took the “flamingo” theme to heart in their attire, as this “best ball off the tee” 18-hole friendly competition among teams of four recognized the top three teams in First Flight and Second Flight Thursday, June 10.

Following play in the morning and early afternoon, a luncheon in the club’s main ballroom recognized six top teams, plus individual skill awards and blind-draw winners, with various prizes.

First Flight champions with a score of 83 (score with highest numbers are superior) were Traci Smith, Lynna Rader, Robin Banner and Tammy Cheek (not our farragutpress reporter). Runner-ups (79) were Annette Stevens, Julie Maier, Elessa Epps and Sharon Kelly. Third-place finishers (77) were R J Whitfield, Teresa Reed, Karen Jones and Suzanne Crutcher.

Second Flight champions (79) were Sally Hedgepeth, Sherrie McCarty, Whitney Childers and Rachael Bennett. Finishing second (78) were Betty Thomas, Caroline Pardue, Nancy Alford and Song Alford. Taking third-place (71) were Betty MacDonald, Kathy Kruse, Debbie Patterson and Delores Haynie.

Individual awards went to Catherine Manning (Putting Contest); Judy Strandquist (Member Closest to the Hole on tee-off at No. 16) and Pardue (Guest Closest); and Donna Pyle (Member Most Accurate Drive on No. 8) and Maier (Guest Most Accurate).