business briefs

• The American Association for the Advancement of Science recently announced the 2021 AAAS Fellows from the University of Tennessee. Election of AAAS Fellow is a lifetime honor.

Elected faculty are Brad Day, Mircea Podar and Steven Wilhelm in the Department of Microbiology; Linda Kah in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences; Hanno Weitering in the Department of Physics and Astronomy; David Anderson in the College of Veterinary Medicine; and Carl Sams in the Department of Plant Sciences.

• Chris Boyer, associate professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture, recently received the Distinguished Professional Contribution Award from the Southern Agricultural Economics Association. The award is given to individuals who have demonstrated significant service to the association. Boyer accepted the award at the 2022 SAEA annual meeting held Feb. 12-15 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

• American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges recently named Dr. Barry T. Rouse, a veterinarian and an immunologist in the Department of Biomedical and Diagnostic Services at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine, as the recipient of the 2022 AAVMC Excellence in Research Award. Presented annually, this award recognizes an individual who, over the course of his or her career, has demonstrated excellence in original research, leadership in the scientific community and mentoring of trainees and colleagues in any discipline of veterinary medicine. 

• The University of Tennessee, Knoxville’s, The Tickle College of Engineering remained highly placed in the latest U.S. News and World Report ranking of online master’s engineering programs. The college is now 20th among public schools, 27th overall.

• The University of Tennessee Medical Center recently announced the Center for Perioperative Medicine as its eighth Center of Excellence. The center has been established to create a safe, high-quality surgical and anesthesia experience for patients, team members.

• University of Tennessee, Knoxville, assistant professor Mahshid Ahmadi recently was selected to receive the Sloan Research Fellow for her work in chemistry.

She is the fifth UT faculty member to be honored since the fellowship’s beginning in 1955.

• Matt Perkins, co-owner of Business To Business Logistics, LLC, recently was selected to be a member of a chief executive peer advisory board in Knoxville by Vistage Worldwide Inc. He joined more than 300 senior executives, business owners and CEOs across Tennessee who are Vistage members.

Matt has 30 years of combined sales, distribution and operations experience, which he has leveraged to start and run BTB for the last 10-plus years.