Seven vie for Farragut mayor, two aldermen seats Aug. 4; also Knox

The Thursday, Aug. 4, Town of Farragut Election and Knox County General Election features several contests.

In preparation for Aug. 4 and beyond, Farragut and Knox County residents who are not registered to vote have until July 5 to register.

Early Voting period for Aug. 4 elections, which also includes State and Federal Primary Election, is July 15-30. Absentee deadline is July 28.

Town Election

The Town’s non-partisan Election features seven candidates vying for three offices:

• Incumbent Mayor Ron Williams faces a challenge from Bill Johns, a former Town mayoral candidate.

• Alderman Scott Meyer, incumbent in Ward I, will face challengers Adam Atherton and James “Jim” Hill.

• Running to replace retiring Alderman Ron Pinchok for his Ward II seat are Marty Layman and David White.

Knox County General Election

Looking to defeat Republican incumbent Knox County Mayor Glenn Jacobs is Democrat Debbie Helsley, who earned 74.19 percent of the vote in winning the Primary.

• County Commission At-Large Seat 10: Incumbent Larsen Jay (56.31 percent in the Primary) will face Democrat Dylan Earley, who was unopposed in the Primary.

• County Commission At-Large Seat 11: Kim Frazier (57.84 percent in the Primary) goes against Democrat Vivian Underwood Shipe, who was unopposed in the Primary, and Independent Donald Bridges.

• Trustee: Justin Biggs, outgoing County Commission At-Large Seat 11 officeholder (57.23 percent) will face Democrat Dave “Caz” Cazalet (unopposed in Primary).

Among Democrat and Republican Primary candidates who were unopposed, yet face General Election challenges from the rival party or an Independent — also indirectly affecting Farragut and area residents — are …

• Register of Deeds: GOP incumbent Nick McBride versus Democrat Scott Crammond.

• District Attorney General: GOP incumbent Charme P. Allen versus Democrat Jackson M. Fenner.

• General Sessions Judge Division I: Incumbent Republican Chuck Cerny versus Democrat Sarah Keith.

• Circuit, Civil Sessions & Juvenile Court Clerk: GOP incumbent Charlie Susano versus Democrat Dana E. Moran.

• Board of Education District 6 (including Hardin Valley): GOP incumbent Betsy Henderson versus Independent Phillip Michael Sherman.