Top KCS teachers

Bearden’s Nutter among several local school honorees

  • From left, Farragut High School winners Christopher McNeer, Rebecca Whitehead, Al Fontenot III and Kelly Gruhn, along with FHS assistant principal Valerie Wilson. Not pictured is fellow winner Taylor Watson. - Photos submitted

  • From left are Farragut Middle School winners Rochelle Ramos, Angela Duncan, Courtney Bugica and Kim Mink. - Photos submitted

One Farragut area teacher was a district-wide winner among nearly 200 educators who were honored at the annual Knox County Schools Teacher of the Year Banquet in Knoxville Convention Center Tuesday, Feb. 28.

Rebecca Nutter, a Bearden High School social studies teacher, was named Teacher of the Year in the 9th-12th-Grade Division.

Each district school had teachers represented at the banquet, as recipients were nominated by their peers and selected using the Tennessee Department of Education’s guidelines for Teacher of the Year.

Region One winners from Farragut schools were Jessica Burkhart, Ruth Granroth and Lana Hsieh from Farragut Primary School; Jamey Evans, Parker Miles and Ann Riddell from Farragut Intermediate School; Courtney Bugica, Angela Duncan, Kimberly Mink and Rochelle Ramos from Farragut Middle School; and Erin Ashe, Al Fontenot III, Kelly Gruhn, Christopher McNeer, Taylor Watson and Rebecca Whitehead from Farragut High School.

Other Region One winners from BHS were Jami Aylor, Lauren Migun, McKenze Schlosser and Martin Sierocinski Jr.

Region One winners also included three from Northshore Elementary School: Jessie Anne Compton and Kaci Hipsher.

Four Region One winners from West Valley Middle School were Christine Dawson, Amanda Varnes, Antoinette Williams and April Tomberlin

Region Two winners from Hardin Valley Academy were Brooke Bianchi-Pennington, Melissa Chambers, Charley Cook, Staci Parvin, Travis Quick and Maddie Warren.

From Hardin Valley Middle School were top choices Jessica Fielden, Angela Stokes and Mason Thornton; while winners from Hardin Valley Elementary were Sandra Guinn, Beth Johnson and Catherine Maestri.