Early voting in Knox Co. only a week away

Farragut voters accustomed to voting early in elections in Farragut Town Hall will have new locations for early voting during the Tuesday, March 5, Primary Day in Knox County.

Because of the renovations to Town Hall, leaving it closed through 2024, “we had to relocate out of there, where we’ve been at least since my 10 years here,” said Chris Davis, administrator with Knox County Election Commission.

“It is a big change for us,” he added. “It’s hard to find a really good spot in Farragut … We’re going to hear some screaming and yelling … It’s hard to leave, but you can’t vote there.

“We’ll be looking for some different options for early voting in July for the August election, and, of course, the presidential (and federal election day) in November. Early voting for presidential is crazy, wrapped around the building.”

For now, however, “we’re going to be conducting early voting from Wednesday, Feb. 14, through Tuesday, Feb. 27, at West Knox Senior Center, located downstairs at Farragut Community Center, 239 Jamestowne Blvd,” he said.

“There’s a specific room we will direct people to,” he added. “We’re going to have people helping with parking and everything.

“We’ll do 12 days of early voting there.”

Specific times, days

According to the Commission’s schedule, early voting will take place (all locations)from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Wednesday, Feb. 14; from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Thursday, Feb. 15, and Friday, Feb. 16; from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., Saturday, Feb. 17; and closed Sunday, Feb. 18.

Early voting will continue from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday, Feb. 19, through Friday, Feb. 23; from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., Saturday, Feb. 24; and closed Feb. 25.

It will also take place from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday, Feb. 26 and Tuesday, Feb. 27.

Davis advised people to vote on the weekends “because that’s when the lines are shorter,” he said.

“We ask that voters do not call the senior center with questions (about voting, days and times) but to call us at the Election Commission (865-215-2480),” Davis added.

In Hardin Valley, “it will be like it has always been, (early voting will be) in Karns Senior Center (8042 Oak Ridge Highway),” Davis said. “And, of course, we will be at Downtown West (1645 Downtown West Blvd.) for a lot of people who are in West Knox County who don’t go to Farragut.”

However, for Election Day, Tuesday, March 5, he said, “We’ve got a few new polling places.”

For the most part, Davis said residents vote in the precinct in which they reside, which will be listed on their voter’s registration card, so they only have one place to vote.

However, for voters who normally vote at Farragut Town Hall on Election Day, “we’re moving them across Kingston Pike to Faith Lutheran Church (225 Jamestown Blvd., beside Farragut Community Center),” he said. “That’s people who live in the southwest corner of the county, south of Farragut — they live in Choto, Montgomery Cove — and all those places.”

Others who vote in places, such as Farragut High School, Farragut Middle School and Farragut Primary School, Davis said those locations are not changing.

He observed there are some voters who live near Fox Road and near Pellissippi Parkway who, if they used to vote at Shoreline Church, that church is under construction, so “we moved those voters to Ebenezer United Methodist Church (1001 Ebenezer Road) in West Knox County.”

For people residing on South Northshore Drive, for Election Day, “nothing changes for them,” Davis said. “They’ll still be at Northshore Elementary.”

Davis added all locations are on the Commission’s website.

The Election office is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

For more information on voting locations in Farragu, Hardin Valley and Knox County, go to knoxvotes.org.

Offices sought

The following offices that are related to Knox County service in Farragut and Hardin Valley are on the Primary election ballot for Tuesday, March 5:

Property Assessor

• Drew Harper, Democrat

• Jackie Raley, Republican

• Phil Ballard, Republican

Law Director

• Jackson Fenner, Democrat

• David Buuck, Republican

• Daniel Herrera, Republican

Criminal Court Judge

Division II, District 6

• Hector Sanchez, Republican

County Commission

District 6

• Daniel Greene, Democrat

• Terry Hill, Republican

• Julie Fritts, Republican

County Commission

District 5

• Arthur Moore, Democrat

• Brad Hall, Republican

• Angela Russell, Republican

• Toni Scott, Republican

• Dale Skidmore; Republican

• Brian Walker, Republican.

Board of Education

District 5

• Lauren Morgan, Republican

• Terrye Whitaker, Democrat