Scholarships, Anchor Awards highlight FHS Senior Day honorees

Anchor Awards, scholarships and other honors were bestowed on Farragut High School’s seniors in FHS’s Vickie B. Wells’ Auditorium Thursday morning, May 16.

“This is a special group of kids,” principal Dr. John Bartlett said. “They are a superbly talented group of young men and women.

“I’m proud to hand the baton on to the next generation,” he added. “We have a reason to celebrate.”

The highest honor, the Anchor Awards, went to six seniors: William Cabaniss, Kate Bruce, William DeFranco, Laura Cunningham, Kailey Scheafnocker and Pete Clower.

Along that line, Megan Ramsey and Austin Hankins earned the Beacon Award.

Additionally, students earned scholarships because of their kindness hard work. Among the scholarships were the Michael David Greene Scholarship, which went to Anna Kauffman and Andrew Duhaime; Charlotte and Lendon Welch Scholarship to Roger McNeer; the Lafayette and Pearl Hubbs Memorial Scholarship, presented by FHS Education Foundation, to Andrea Callaway; the Commercial Bank Scholarship to Michelle Lin; and Prudential Spirit of Community Award to William Cabaniss.

Additionally, students received awards as National Merit Finalists and National Merit Commended Students.

National Merit Finalists were: Karrie An (Elynn), Iris Chen, Elaina Conger, Grace Feng, Audrey Fey, Madeline Gao, Caleb Han, Jesse Hao, Danial Khan, Michelle Lin, Elliot Mandl, Vivan Singhvi, Reuben Soans, Channing Tan, Thomas Williamson, Nicholas Yan and Iris Ye.

National Merit Commended Students were William Cabiness, Benjamin Cho, Leo Davis, Kameron Hanson, Bhargav Kamujula, Chris Keum, Alice Liu, Audrey Louden, Adarsh Muralidharan, Anand Patel, Yogi Patel, Shashank Ramuhalli, Brevin Swartzentruber, Boyu Tan,Vaishnavi Tathineni and Alysa Zhao.

Rising Tide Award winners, who each received a computer, included Justice Gonzalez, Melina Herrera, Sama Kado, Danial Khan and Leo Davis.

The National Merit Battelle Scholarship went to Morgan Albany and Iris Chin, while National Merit Siemens Scholarship went to Nicholas Yan, Reuben Soans and Grace Feng.

Students also received awards for best representing their ethnic background. The National African-American Recognition Award went to Emma Cunningham and Laura Cunningham, the National Hispanic Recognition Award to David Broda, John Tiernan and Sara Camacho Comez, and the National Indigenous Award to Margaret Raines.